Anxiety, Stress and Mental Health

In light of the recent sixth sense publication (the sixth form magazine at my school) about mental health, I thought that it would be nice to shed light on the topic.

Mental Health – what is it? An issue that isn’t addressed enough. Something swept under the carpet and ignored. Why? We have grown up under this belief that if you don’t see it, it doesn’t exist! We have been brought up to learn that concepts such as pain and hurt are proven through physical scars. However, why is this a problem? .

 

Because people think the solution is to “Just cheer up!“But how? This is the problem with Mental health, people don’t take it seriously. Why, because you can’t see it – after all “seeing is believing”. People can never get into another person mind/ body and feel the fear and panic that builds up within them. I can speak from experience, but in those times I lose control of my body – I feel helpless and that is the worst feeling ever.

Why? We have been raised to take control over everything: our lives, our mistakes, our responsibilities and our decisions. But when have we been told to loosen up? To follow the flow and go wherever life takes us. I’m not denying that I’ve heard that advice, but i would be lying if I didn’t acknowledge that the first piece of advice is enforced a lot more than the second.

I am in a place where I should be the happiest person alive…but I’m not! My mind is a battlefield for my emotions so yes, I guess I could say I am mentally unstable at times. I guess we can all say that because it impossible to feel a certain emotion 100% of the time. It is possible to be consumed by one though and feel like that. However, if I raise my hand and say that I am not mentally okay, you would automatically assume that I am insane. Mentally unstable = Crazy. This isn’t a tautology. With the rise of social media, technology and social expectations, young people are increasingly thrown into situations that are intoxicated by pressure. Such an overwhelming dose has poisoned us with symptoms of Stress, Anxiety and even Depression. Although 2016 on the whole was a great year for me, it was also the same year that tested my mental health. It is the same year where I experienced one of many mental breakdowns. It was the first time that I accepted the fact that its okay not to always be okay. What matters most is the bounce back. What you do in response to those voices in your head – because trust me, they are there.

So what do you do? I could give you advice but that would be based upon the false pretext that I have found the solution, that I have successfully overcome my own issues. However, I can give you some advice about what I have noticed that has helped me the most. SUPPORT! I have a great network of friends and family who are always there when I need them. Simply asking me “Are you OK?” makes a huge difference. I usually don’t open up about my feelings. I usually bottle things up and let them ‘fester’. So knowing that people are there for you to talk  to means the world. It makes it easier for me to break the barriers in my head and shed some light to the dark.

So, before I go, I just want to ask “Are YOU okay?”

P.S (Sorry nothing makes sense, this is just the why my mind works)

CSG Sixth Sense: https://www.facebook.com/camdensixthsense/

Featured Image Source: Parliament Street

Leave a Reply

