Happy New Year!!!

OMGGGGG!!! Guys it’s 2017. “New Year…New Me!” Right?

LOOOL, jk jk. I don’t go by that motto! For me, I’ve always been improving myself but I am not going to lie, a new year is just another reason that motivates me to carry on.

2016 was a MAD year. When I see people complaining about how bad it went I feel quite sad because I felt like 2016 was an amazing year for me. It taught me a lot about myself, friendship, my faith and so much more! By far it was not my easiest year, I had huge mental breakdowns, anxiety and lots of stress but it has also granted me so many blessed opportunities. I lost people and I had to constantly battle with my biggest enemy…Myself! However, without enduring such a war I wouldn’t have been able to make it to 2017. But I AM HERE! So clearly, I went right somewhere.

Last year I changed the way I approached new years resolutions. Instead of setting a small number of specific targets that I aimed to fulfil, I set a theme. My theme for 2016 was ‘Selfishness’. Yes, you read correctly. In 2016 I wanted to become a lot more selfish. Why? Well, one thing that I have observed about myself is that I am quite a selfless person, so I usually put other people first. It reached a point where I essentially forgot to live for myself (sounds quite sad now that I think about… but it was true) . As a result, I decided to put myself first in many situations. Whether that meant rejecting people’s company to study for myself, treating myself or spending time dedicated to myself. It was quite difficult but the more I did it, the more I realised the benefits. For example, I procrastinated less and learnt more about myself. It’s weird because this was the first ‘New Years Resolution’ that I managed to fulfil. I am not going to lie and say that there isn’t any room for improvement, but I have accomplished a lot more than I believed that I could.

This year I want to continue my themed resolutions. So whilst continuing my theme of selfishness, I aim to start a new theme for the new year. This year my theme is : CONSISTENCY! I have realised that one of my biggest problems with  remaining consistent to certain things e.g. school revision. This year, I have so many important events happening which means that slacking isn’t an option and consistency is the key solution to this. This will be a huge challenge for my personal development but I plan to make the most of it, just as I did in 2016. As well as school, I want to be consistent at home e.g. with this blog so I am hoping to ensure I can commit to a post a week (on Fridays). Gradually, I can challenge myself by adding Monday’s back  around June (or earlier if necessary).

Personal development is a very important part of life so I want this year to be another year for that. I hope 2017 is a great year for all of us! If you have any new years resolutions, please feel to share but regardless I just hope you all have a Happy New Year (again)!

Feature Image Source: Happy New Years 2017

Leave a Reply

