“Time to dig my grave for RESULTS DAY!”

Okay! Okay! Before we start preparing for our death, re-evaluating our life plans and crafting the perfect explanations for our parents we just need to PAUSE!

Just PAUSE!

Great! Now let’s just start over!

RESULTS DAY! These two words are possibly the most terrifying pair EVER! I am not going to lie to you but hearing them or seeing them across my Snapchat drives me crazy. Not crazy mad but crazy nervous! Why? It’s the day which declares whether you FAILED or SUCCEEDED in life!

WRONG!

Throughout our lives we have been rigorously trained to conquer the evil beast: EXAMS! Therefore, it is only natural to be worried when you are awaiting to find out how well you did. However, one thing we haven’t constantly been taught is that “EXAM ≠ LIFE“. If you fail an exam, it doesn’t mean you have failed life. As a student, I understand how annoying my last sentence sounded! However, I do realise that we are so consumed by this ‘bubble of education’ that we fail to see that life is a lot more than grades on a piece of paper.

Success can be defined in many different ways so it doesn’t have to be based purely on your educational performance. There is so much more you can do to create success in your life. Alternatively, if you have a particular career ambition, don’t think that there is only one path to getting there because there is a lot more.

When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us

– Alexander Graham Bell

During my work experience at UBS bank, I learned that people entered the industry in different ways. That’s the beauty of life, we all have a different story to share – otherwise our world would be pretty boring!

So yes, I sound super dopey and cheesy but it’s little motivational pieces like this which can help you change your mind set. I also want to be able to look back at this every results day so that I don’t bury myself in so much negativity.

If there is one quote I basically live by it’s “Positive vibes only“! There is no room for negativity – life is too short to be a glum bum so cheer up and keep it moving because I ASSURE you that there are GREATER things that lie ahead!

P.S I have been so worried about Result’s day that I couldn’t sleep. Writing this post helped me to de-stress and leak out all the negative thoughts in my brain (very therapeutic)! We’re all in the same boat so you’re NOT ALONE!

Photo credit: Nottingham University student blogs

Leave a Reply

