You took the “great” out of Great Britain!

You took the great out of Great Britain!

You took the united out of this kingdom!

You took the future from the young!

Yes YOU!!!

On Friday 24th June 2016, YOU took us out of the European Union.

For a very long time this ‘campaign’(I prefer to call it a battle) had been going on since it was initially mentioned a couple years ago. One day a man named Nigel Farage decided to throw down his glove (an old fashioned way of asking for a duel) and our soon to be ex-Prime Minister, David Cameron slowly bent down and picked it up. As a result of this ‘private‘ exchange, the poor old citizens of the formerly ‘United‘ Kingdom had to suffer the consequences.

Moving swiftly on to the beginning of 2016: the battle had begun. Ammunition, resources and people were gathered together in order to defend their camp. On one hand were figures such as our newly elected Mayor, Sadiq Khan, our ‘former’ Prime Minister David Cameron and even our good old President of the United States, Barack Obama.

So… Looking back at campaigns, what do I see.

“IMMIGRATION!” “BRING BACK OUR JOBS!” “MAKE BRITAIN GREAT AGAIN!” “CLOSE OUR BORDERS!” “SAVE OUR NHS!” “WE SPEND BILLIONS ON THE EU AND GET NO RETURN!”

bus.jpg

Once again, like any rational human being, if I was bombarded by these messages my automatic instinct would be to Leave the EU. When you are clouded by such barbaric notions, why would you remain in the EU. It’s an institution that burdens the UK rather than aids it.

This is where my frustration and anger is concentrated.

All day today, I have simply rolled my eyes, said “I don’t care” and told people that “I expected this to happen”. All of these statements are true to a certain extent because there is little that can be done now. However, I can’t completely shrug my shoulders and turn away from the fact that MY FUTURE, MY YOUNG AND PROSPEROUS FUTURE has been DESTROYED by people, I don’t know, people who will probably in a few years time and people who don’t care.

It would be stupid for me to say that everybody knew what they were doing because I know that’s not true. However, the fact that the people who did know, manipulated their ignorance just for their selfish motives INFURIATES ME!!!

HOW DARE YOU!

HOW DARE YOU SNATCH MY FUTURE AWAY FROM ME BECAUSE YOU CARED MORE ABOUT YOUR OWN!

HOW DARE YOU MANIPULATE PEOPLE INTO THINKING THAT THEY MADE A CLEAR AND RATIONAL DECISION!

HOW DARE YOU INFRINGE UPON MY BASIC HUMAN RIGHTS!

HOW DARE YOU INSULT MY DEMOCRACY!

As Martin Lewis wisely said:

This may be a binary vote, but it’s not a binary argument

Sadly, the campaigns didn’t reflect this. It allowed bigotry, racism and discrimination to all play a HUGE role in shaping people opinions. The worst part is that the Leave side accused the Remain side of scaremongering and using Project ‘fear’ but post Brexit, when the clouds have finally drifted away, we can clearly see who was wrong and who was right.

Those same politicians refuse to accept and admit to their dirty tactics of securing a disgusting victory.

Those same politician claim that we should have an independence day yet don’t even understand the significance of one (I could dedicate a whole new post discussing this).

Our economy is already struggling, the value of the pound has dropped, we are likely to undergo a recession, the FTSE is suffering, our PM has resigned,Boris Johnson might be our new PM, Jeremy Corbyn is facing a no confidence vote because he didn’t campaign as well as he SHOULD have, my future is looking bleak, my rights aren’t looking so strong, Scotland is highly likely to have another referendum to leave the UK and the UK is still outside the EU!

Above all, I, alongside many others, are expected to hold our heads up high, smile and pretend that everything is okay. That we can recover from this because ‘all that’s well end well’!

Well, I’m just going honest… It’s not! For the first time in my life, I am so disappointed in our democracy, in our political system and in the fact that I have identified as a British citizen. For so long the UK has held its head up high boasting about it’s British values but today that same country must bow down at it’s own failure. I can’t believe I am British!

This is a sad day for the EU, for London, the young generation and for ME!

RIP EUROPEAN UNION,

eu-flag-ss-1920

I will miss you, even if the rest of the country doesn’t…

 

Leave a Reply

