DON’T BOMB SYRIA!

There are only 2hrs remaining (from when I started this post) until we here the verdict in reference to whether the UK will launch airstrikes in Syria to destroy the extremist group, ISIS and their bases. I was very close to not typing this up but I believe that it would be a shame to not share my opinion regarding such a controversial issue. My blog is all about huge political issues such as this, therefore, it would make sense for me to elaborate on my position in this long debate. If there is one thing I want to make clear if you haven’t already noticed, I do not support airstrikes and I do not support the government.

I am a young British Muslim who like everyone else is against terrorism, extremism and violence. I do not appreciate stupid comments or stereotypes attached to the 1.57bn worshippers of Islam because of the actions of the minority. I have no shame of what I believe in and what I practice so when people such as Donald Trump want to brand us with identity badges just like the Nazis did with the Jews, it makes me frustrated that such thoughts can be gathered in any persons mind, let alone escape his shameful mouth.

It makes me raise questions such as: what has happened our world? Why are we not moving forward? Why are we repeating the mistake we have made in the past. In response,  I remember that it is only the minority that I need to be challenging with those questions, not the majority. We have actually come a long way since the past, we have improved so much and extremism is another hurdle in our path to equality and democratic values.

So why d0n’t I support airstrikes?


1. The innocent civilians. I watched a video demonstrating the air strikes from France and I couldn’t help but feel so helpless to watch families, women, children and men screaming for the lives. Some were crying because they were trapped within the rubble which they used to call home, crying for the opportunity to witness the sky once again. 700 of those people lost their lives, and for what reason, because the French couldn’t care less about protecting the majority and innocent. No, they just wanted to destroy ISIS (the minority) without considering the burden attached. The world prayed for Paris when they were victims of such brutality but when the roles are reversed, who is praying for Syria

2. Extremist expansion. The USA releases statistics which stated that 10,000 ISIS members had been killed. Well done! However they failed to mention that ISIS membership doubled, increasing by 20,000. By using violence, we are only adding fuel to the fire and letting it burn. When do we put it out? All these air strikes are not preventing ISIS from committing acts of violence! As a matter of fact, I won’t be surprised if ISIS is just sitting back laughing at all this conflict because you are doing their job for them, killing the innocent and providing an increase to the membership of their ‘club’.
3. What do the people want? Finally, I just wanted to talk about what the people want. Throughout this tough time, all I heard is MPs this, MPs that. At the end of the day only parliament have the final decision in regards to the UK’s position not the people. Why am I not hearing about a referendum? Is it because the government are afraid that we don’t know enough? Is it because the government want to take the decision upon themselves? I find it sad that we don’t directly get a say in an issue which is crucial in our life and that we are left helpless about the final decision. On the other hand, what about the people that matter most – Syrians? I have heard politicians saying that they have gone to Syria and visited innocent civilians and how they are saddened by what ISIS are doing. However, I haven’t heard any of them actually asking them what they want? How can we help them? If they believe airstrikes are the best way forward? At the end of the day, their the people at the heart of this all. They are the people who wake up everyday, unsure about whether that day will be the last day. Not us. If we really ‘care’ about helping Syrians, we need to know what they want and we need to stop making assumptions about what we think is best for them.
I would love to continue explaining about why I am so anti-airstrike but like I mentioned I am a young person who fortunately gets to resume to her homework.  Before, I leave though, I just wanted to say that I find it quite appalling that when 30 school girls were taken by the Boko Haram, when Malala was shot by the Taliban, when 147 were killed by terrorist in Kenya… Where was the UK? Why is it only when Paris had fallen, we jumped to its aid in the name of ‘combating extremism and protecting the innocent.’ I don’t remember hearing  politicians preaching about our democratic values then, so why now?
I am not a ‘terrorist sympathiser’! I am only a young human being who want justice and equality to be applied to every individual that matters! War has proven several times in the past and will once again prove to be ineffective in keeping all us and all those innocent people safe.
So after once again, I urge you to oppose airstrikes. DON’T BOMB SYRIA!!!
 
P.S If you are also want to oppose airstrikes and actively contribute please click here to sign a petition registering your opposing regarding airstrikes.
Leave a Reply

