Banking & Women

Hello readers,

It has been a pretty long time since I have actually taken the time to sit down and type up a post. Thus, I would just like to apologise for my absence. Since I have been ‘gone’ for quite some time I thought that it would be nice to just update you about what I have been up to and what I am planning/ going to do in the future.

On 6th – 10th July I had the pleasure of doing work experience at UBS (a bank that is in partnership with my school). It was a great experience because I got to talk to a lot of different people; this allowed me to learn more about the industry. Something which was very central to the week was the topic regarding women especially as there is a huge gender gap not only in UBS but the whole banking industry- which was honestly not surprising. However, I can say I was quite shocked at how wide the gap was e.g. on the trading floor there were 2 women amongst the team of men. Additionally, when the girls (who I was with during the week) and I, talked to a women named Annabel. She told us about when she first started working in the industry and how she attended a meeting of 30 being the only woman.

I learnt that the banking industry isn’t as bad as it seems and if you’re open minded about what you want to do in the future. You should definitely consider it especially as there is a huge range of jobs on offer from marketing to philanthropy. It isn’t just about working in the investment bank everyday from 9-5. Additionally, as a women you can bring a whole range of skills which the industry craves. This may sound far fetched but women can also change the success of a bank as well. Research proves that banks with women in their boards do far better than banks with only men. The industry is also trying to accommodate to the needs of women so that they can keep them in the job as well as get them to apply initially. For example, they understand that many women at some point may consider having a family hence UBS gives them the opportunity to have the best of both world by giving them 6 months maternity leave with full pay and a guaranteed job back. We met many mothers e.g. Kathleen and Tomi who both appreciated this. Additionally, there are options for women who don’t choose to have children so there is a wide range of opportunities available.

I know it may seem like I am glorifying banking and persuading you to work in the industry but I’m not. I know that many people are unaware of what the job curtails and the opportunities for women are coated, so I thought that it would make sense to use my platform to share them. My career path is totally different to banking since I want to get involved in International Politics, the UN and humanitarian causes but without my work experience I wouldn’t have had the chance to learn about the industry. Consequently, I believe work experience is essential to all young people because it provides you with an insight to the industry you want to go in to and allows you to decide whether it is the right one for you. Also, it opens your eyes to the possibilities out there so you can take a bite of each cake before you choose your favourite.

I thought today’s post would be quite different and relaxed but I have still managed to go into some deep and interesting topics which are open for discussion amongst yourselves and also the comments below. I hope you enjoyed learning about an industry and also more about women (I will probably make another post going into more detail).

QUICK NOTE:

For the next 2-3 weeks I will be participating in a programme called NCS. For more detail click here for some information about it. Therefore, I might go back into ghost mode, on the contratry there is a high chance I will be slaying the internet with a  lot of recounts/ vlogs about my experience *fingers crossed* so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

