Freedom of Speech: Is it right?

I apologise for virtually disappearing from the internet and ceasing to exist on my blog account. However, with so much school and exam prep I have been engulfed by my stress. Regardless, I definitely wanted to write again and become much more consistent with posting since I feel very excited to type up my emotions and spoon feed my words to the world.

Today, I had a huge news flash during my English lesson and I decided that I wanted to talk about Freedom of Speech.

In my opinion, I feel the expression of ‘Freedom of Speech’ is already a bit flawed since in society we are already restricted to what we can/ can’t say in public: for example hate speeches are illegal (as mentioned from my cool friend Ella). Regardless, there are not many laws that are enforced to restrict what we can say, however socially we censor ourselves from saying certain things.

Although, we may not have complete freedom to say whatever we want, we have enough freedom to express our thoughts, feeling and opinions. Especially in this country, this privilege is something we should be proud of having, because in countries such as North Korea, their rights only exist in their dreams. Freedom of Speech is amazing because it allows people to spread messages of love, politics and give me a reason to type up blogs. We are given an opportunity to debate over current affairs and decide what is morally acceptable/ justified. Overall, its one of our strongest tools to strive for success. As a result of it, we have been able to change history for example:

Martin Luther King – ‘I have a dream’ speech: http://www.americanrhetoric.com/speeches/mlkihaveadream.htm

Winston Churchill – ‘blood, toil, tears and sweat’ speech: http://www.presentationmagazine.com/winston-churchill-speech-blood-toil-tears-and-sweat-7878.htm

Words are brilliant and as quoted below:

Keep your thoughts positive, because your thoughts become your words.Keep your words positive, because your words become your behavior.Keep your behavior positive, because your behavior become your habits.Keep your habits positive, because your habits become your values.Keep your values positive, because your values become your destiny.
                                                                                                                                                        – Mahatma Gandi
Unfortunately, many people take advantage of their words in order to harm others and this is not right! Words can scar people for life and they dance around your brain like a broken record player, stuck on repeat. If you can’t use your words in order to spark up debate in topics of interest or just use them in order to oppress people, what is the use of talking?
So many people around the world wish to have a voice, a say, an opinion just to be heard and to change their country for a better good. However, people who already have that platform just misuse it and that just sickens me! How could you try to intoxicate peoples mind with such vile thoughts and drive some to turn upon themselves?
I was taught that “if you have nothing nice to say, then say nothing at all ” and honestly I feel like people should just listen to that message and move on from being so worthless and possibly try to develop into great speakers that use their words for good.
So is Freedom of speech right? I still believe so, but what do you think?
One thought on “Freedom of Speech: Is it right?

Leave a Reply

